About Scientists for the Right to Know

In 2012, a Working Group of Science for Peace started to look into the muzzling of science and scientists in Canada. Muzzling is a broad process that may be carried out by governments, industry, universities, and others. However, we quickly realized that the current federal government is actually waging a war on basic science. While other Canadian governments have engaged in muzzling as well, we have never witnessed the type of systematic attack on basic science that is happening right now in Canada.
We therefore decided to focus at present on the muzzling of science on the part of the federal government. We also decided that we needed to find a means to engage the public at large. The focus of our work shifted, then, from researching the issue to advocating for unmuzzled science. It became clear that the work the group was envisaging would exceed the mandate of Science for Peace -  education. We decided to form a new organization frankly devoted to advocacy.
The inaugural meeting of Scientists for the Right to Know took place in April 2013. We are currently in the process of incorporating as a non-profit organization. Scientists for the Right to Know has been endorsed by the Canadian Federation of Students and by the Canadian Association for Professional Academic Librarians
and by OCUFA (see below).

May 29, 2013

‘Scientists’ for the Right to Know’ Campaign – Academic Librarians Join Scientists in Canada 0

by admin academic freedom, Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, CAPAL, LAC - Library and Archives Canada, Library and Archives Canada (LAC), Scientists' Right to Know, University of Toronto

Researchers at the University of Toronto have formed a new group in response to continuing government action on the freedom of information in Canada. The group called Scientists’ for the Right to Know states their mandate is “  to advocate for the free conduct, communication, publication and archiving of research and to resist the muzzling of science and of scientists.”  The Canadian Association for Professional Academic Librarians fully endorses and supports the SRK mandate. As CAPAL has stipulated in the document  Academic Librarianship: A Statement of Principles we fully endorse eradicating discrimination, free enquiry and advancement of knowledge, uncensored and unbiased access to information and preserving knowledge for current and future generations.  We urge all our colleagues across Canada to show their support for the efforts of this group. http://scientistsfortherighttoknow.wildapricot.org/timeline Of particular interest is their timeline which shows the extent to which suppression of freedom of speech and information has been happening in different areas.

June 13, 2013

OCUFA just put this out to all their members ( 17,000):

Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA) <https://www.facebook.com/OCUFA?ref=stream&hc_location=stream
A recently created not for profit organization Scientists for the Right to Know is preparing to engage the public on the very grave issue of muzzling science in Canada. Consider joining!

We have an executive of three people: 

President - Margrit Eichler

Treasurer - Phyllis Creighton

Secretary - Sue Kralik

Margrit Eichler is Professor Emerita of OISE/UT. She received her PhD in Sociology from Duke University.  She was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and of the European Academy of Sciences, and  she received an honorary doctorate from Brock University. She has remained an activist during her entire academic career.

Phyllis Creighton is a translations editor with the renowned Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada. She holds an MA in history from the University of Toronto. An ethicist and author -- and Raging Granny--, she has long worked for peace, nuclear disarmament, human rights, social justice, conservation, and environmental protection. She holds the Anglican Award of Merit, the Order of Ontario, and the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal.  

Sue Kralik is a graduate of the University of Western Ontario and earned a Master of Education degree at the University of Toronto. Sue recently retired as a school Principal. While working as a Principal, Sue led school based anti-war and social justice initiatives and remains committed to working for peace, social justice, and respect for the environment.

Organizing Committee:

Jessica Arsenault is pursuing a PhD in cognitive neuroscience at the University of Toronto. She is passionate about science communication and media literacy. Jessica is an active member of the UofT community, holding positions within the Graduate Student Union and the Graduate Education Council. She also volunteers with organizations such as Let’s Talk Science and Science Rendezvous.

Graysanne Bedell, J.D., has been a corporate-commercial lawyer for 30 years. She was also a director and, for 6 years President, of Street Haven at the Crossroads, a charity that serves Toronto women facing great challenges such as homelessness.  She helped in the formation of the Community Forward Fund, an investment fund that lends money to charities and not-for-profit entities. Her goal is to work with a few good organizations on issues that she has identified as significant to a healthy, equitable and prosperous society within Canada.

Emma Hansen is an undergraduate student at the University of Toronto pursuing a BSc in Physics and Philosophy. She is involved with Pax Christi International and Science for Peace, and she is currently orchestrating the first annual Polanyi Conference on Science and Social Responsibility. Emma's main interests lie in the intersection of science and society.

Craig Heron is a professor of History at York University and the author of many articles and books on Canadian social and working-class history. He has also been active in helping to create and promote public history outside academia. He has been co-chair of the Workers' Arts and Heritage Centre, vice-chair of the Ontario Heritage Foundation, and president of the Canadian Historical Association. He is currently Vice-President External of the York University Faculty Association.

Linda Tu is a scientist by persuasion and training.  She received a Ph.D. in Applied Chemistry from Wisconsin University,  After a career in creating computer systems she has been active in science education for mature learners.  She has served on the Don Valley Council and the local Board of Health as part of her interest in environmental well-being.

© Scientists for the Right to Know
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software